Brown Judaic Studies

Brown Judaic Studies Monograph Series (BJS) is a peer-reviewed monograph series that publishes high-quality, specialized books aimed primarily at a scholarly audience. The first three BJS volumes were published in 1977 by Scholars Press: Tzvee Zahavy’s The Traditions of Eleazar ben Azariah (BJS 2), William Scott Green’s edited Persons and Institutions in Early Rabbinic Judaism (BJS 3), and Joshua B. Stein’s Claude Goldsmid Montefiore on the Ancient Rabbis: The Second Generation of Reform Judaism in Britain (BJS 4). BJS 1, the first volume of William Scott Green’s edited Approaches to Ancient Judaism, was published the following year. Since that time more than 350 volumes have appeared in the series.

Although currently produced and distributed by SBL Press, the official copyright holder is Brown University, and the publisher of record is Brown Judaic Studies. References to volumes in the series should use the abbreviation “BJS” to refer to the series and “Brown Judaic Studies” (not abbreviated) to refer to the publisher.

Johnson Hodge, Caroline, Saul M. Olyan, Daniel Ullucci, and Emma Wasserman, eds. “The One Who Sows Bountifully”: Essays in Honor of Stanley K. Stowers. BJS 356. Providence, RI: Brown Judaic Studies, 2013.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s